How to Remove Points from Your Texas Driver Record
For new teen drivers learning how to drive for the first time, you might’ve heard of the point system. In the state of Texas, the point system is utilized to assess how many demerit points remain on one’s driving record, for different driving infractions. The type and severity of the violation determine the number of points for violations.
Although this may seem like a foreign topic to you, as a student driver, it is essential that you familiarize yourself with this system as early as possible. Not only to avoid the violations that impact your driving record, but also to prevent some of the harsh penalties associated with them.
Points on Your Texas Driver Record Is Never Good
You might be thinking to yourself, “what’s the harm in having a couple of points assessed to your license for a speeding violation?” Although it might not seem like much, those points add up quickly. And, even just a couple of points on your Texas driver record can have an adverse impact.
Insurance Rates Increase
You might not pay for your insurance as a teen driver, but your parents aren’t going to be happy with the premium increase because of your poor driving habits. In the state of Texas (and nearly every US state), insurers often increase premium rates for drivers who are deemed dangerous, or “a high-risk driver.”
Penalties and Fines
If your insurance premiums don’t take a hit, your wallet might in other ways. For some moving violations, drivers will pay fines from $100 to over $1,000. Points also remain on your license for a minimum of 3 years.
Suspension of Driving Privileges
Although your first infraction won’t result in suspension, multiple penalties, resulting in an accumulation of points will. For example, If a driver has 4 moving violations, their driving privileges can be suspended for up to 12 months, For 7 violations or more, suspension for up to 24 months may occur.
Although it doesn’t occur as often as suspensions do, if a certain number of surcharges add up, based on the type of violation (DWI, accidents, etc.) drivers can have their driving privileges permanently revoked.
In the most extreme cases, drivers sometimes receive jail sentences for violations and points on their license. DWI offenses can result in a penalty up to 3 days. However, drivers found liable for manslaughter, as a result of DWI, face imprisonment terms of up to 20 years. Hit-and-run convictions can result in imprisonment for a term of up to 5 years.
Although severe, and not typical, it is important to note the dangers of accumulating too many points on your license. And, young drivers should understand that imprisonment can result in hazardous situations.
How Can Driving Courses Benefit your Texas Driver Record?
Drivers can significantly benefit from different driving courses. For example, eDriving’s defensive driving course teaches you how to avoid an accident by remaining alert, focusing on obstructions at a distance, and staying away from hazardous drivers on the road. In addition to defensive driving courses, if you have points on your license for a violation, some driver education programs, such as those offered by DriversEd.com and I Drive Safely, will help wipe those points away after you complete the training.
Through eDriving’s One More Second® Defensive Driving Course, you can take each module one at a time, or all at once. You’ll go through:
- Course Introduction
- What Is Defensive Driving?
- The Importance of Attitude & Behavior
- A Planned System of Driving
- Hazard Recognition
- 10 Tips to Save Your Life
- Closing Thoughts
- Knowledge Checks
The apparent goal for all drivers is to drive safely, remain alert, and know the rules of the road, so you avoid infractions altogether. However, in some instances, even the safest drivers make mistakes. For new Texas teen drivers, if you have any points on your license, the first step you should consider is enrolling an a drivers ed program. The proper training will not only help you avoid future violations, but might also wipe those points off your license once you complete the program.